Eighteen local athletes named in Ireland’s European Athletics Championships squad!

Eighteen NI & Ulster athletes named in Ireland’s Euro Championships squad:

Eighteen Northern Ireland & Ulster athletes have been named in Ireland’s European Athletics Championships squad.

The prestigious Championships will take place in Berlin, Germany, from the 6th – 12th August 2018.

The local competitors are as follows:

Athlete Club Coach Event


Stephen Scullion Clonliffe Harriers Stephen Haas 10,000m
Ben Reynolds North Down AC Tom Reynolds 110m hurdles
Adam McMullen Crusaders AC Jonas Todoo Long Jump
Paul Pollock Annadale Striders Andrew Hobdell Marathon
Kevin Seaward St Malachy’s AC Andrew Hobdell Marathon
Craig Newell Ballymena & Antrim AC Ian Neely 4x400m Relay
Andrew Mellon Crusaders AC Brendan McConville 4x400m Relay
Brendan Boyce Finn Valley AC Robert Heffernan 50k Walk
Mark English UCD AC Steve Magness 800m
Chris O’Donnell North Sligo AC Nick Dakin 400m
Ciara Mageean UCD AC Steve Vernon 1500m
Emma Mitchell QUB AC Eamonn Christie 10,000m
Kerry O’Flaherty Newcastle AC Richard Rodgers 3,000m SC
Breege Connolly City of Derry AC Donie Walsh Marathon
Gladys Ganiel North Belfast Harriers Matt Shields Marathon
Laura Graham Mourne Runners Ryan Maxwell Marathon
Davicia Patterson Beechmount Harriers 4x400m Relay

Northern Ireland’s Leon Reid (Menapians AC / James Hillier) has also been selected for the event, pending the completion of his international transfer from Great Britain & Northern Ireland to Ireland.

The full Ireland team, which includes an exciting mixture of experienced talent and emerging athletes, is available HERE.

Note:  Article compiled for use by Athletics NI.