Ben Branagh and Lyndsey Tyro win Storming the Castle 10k!

Storming the Castle 10k Road Race 2018:

Ben Branagh (St Malachy’s AC) and Lyndsey Tyro (Orangegrove AC) were crowned ‘King’ and ‘Queen’ of the castle as nearly one thousand athletes took to the roads of Carrickfergus for the annual Storming the Castle 10 road race, an event organised by Seapark AC (Sunday 26th August 2018).

Ben Branagh continued his return to competitive action with an impressive performance, leading the field 31:54 for 1st place.  North Belfast Harriers team mates John Black and Joe Malone followed in 2nd place and 3rd place respectively, with John running 32:38 (2nd place) and Joe 34:21 (3rd place).

In the ladies race, Lyndsey Tyro (Orangegrove AC) and Debbie Matchett (Ballydrain Harriers) battled it out for the top prize.  After an excellent race, Lyndsey topped the podium after crossing the line in 41:02 (1st place).  Debbie followed just two seconds later in 41:04 for 2nd place, before the host club’s Elisoa Crawford completed the podium in 41:52 (3rd place).

Full Results: Storming the Castle 2018 Results