Local and International Stars Prepare For Belfast International 2019

Top international athletes will go head-to-head with a host of local talent this week at the Belfast International EAP Meet on Thursday 1st August 2019 at the Mary Peter’s Track.

One of the highlight events of the evening be the Men’s 200m with Commonwealth Bronze Medallist and recent Irish National 200m Champion, Leon Reid (Menapians AC). Five time Paralympic gold medallist, Jason Smyth (Derry Track Club) will compete, along with Great Britain’s Adam Gemili who was 4th in the event at the Rio Olympics.

Another fantastic event will be the Women’s 800m with Commonwealth Games athlete, Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn AC/ Team New Balance), who recently won the Irish National Senior Championship gold in the 800m.

She will be competing against Olympian Kelly Neely (City of Lisburn AC); Great Britain’s Hannah England and two time Commonwealth Games athlete, Katie Kirk (University of Ulster, Jordanstown). Katie has been enjoying a recent return to form after seizing a much deserved silver medal at the Irish National Senior Championships in Dublin, just 0.26s behind race leader, Ciara Mageean.

In the Men’s 100m Jason Smyth (PB: 10.22) will take on a multitude of talent from across Ireland, Scotland and Wales, including Scottish trio Adam Thomas, Michael Olsen and Cameron Tindle as well as NI & Ulster Champion, Dean Adams (Ballymena & Antrim AC).

In the 800m Wheelchair event, we have local athletes, Jack Agnew (Torque Racing Club) and Andrew Greer (Torque Racing Club) against Issac Towers and Hannah Cockroft from Great Britain as well as the Irish trio of Patrick Monahan, Cillian Dunne and Sean McCullagh.

In the field, we will see Canada’s Caroline Ehrhardt in the Triple Jump and World Junior Silver Medallist and NI & Ulster High Jump Champion, Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley AC). The Discus competition will be the inaugural Mike Fulton Memorial Competition with GB athletes, Nick Percy and Amy Holder competing alongside local athletes, Amy Kimber (North Down AC) and Ryan Meeke (Parasport NI) as well as Portugal’s Marco Pons and Ireland’s Colin Quirke.

With the weather conditions looking good, it is set to be a brilliant evening of competition for all. Live streaming of the event will be available and the link for this will be published via our social media channels.

Full start lists can be found here along with more details on the event.