Sperrin Harriers Winter League Grand Finale

Catherine Farley

The Winter League once again lived up to its name. However, Storm Dennis was no match for the runners and volunteers that took on Parkanaur 10 Mile, the finale of the Winter League. There was also action at Armagh International Road Races and MUSA parkrun.

Parkanaur 10 Mile

The fifth and final race of the Winter League took place on Saturday. The race encapsulated the series as a whole with fast times, determined runners, challenging conditions and unrivalled enthusiasm from participants and volunteers alike.

Eoin Hughes (Acorns AC) continued his dominance, taking yet another victory in a time of 57.34. Seamus Bradley put in a fine performance to take second in a time of 58.34. In third place, with a time of 59.59 was Brian Furey (Rathfarnham Runners).

The first female was Helena Quinn (Termoneeny) with an impressive time of 1.08.56. She was followed by Ciara Largey (Omagh Harriers) who took second in a time of 1.11.16. The third lady was Catherine Roberts (North Down AC) in a time of 1.12.33

The first Harrier home was Paul McLaughlin in swift time of 1.06.44. The host club’s first lady was Catherine Farley in a time of 1.23.44.

Also taking part were; Raymond Thom (1.10.27), Brian Bradley (1.12.45), Shane Curtis (1.15.23), Steven Dornan (1.17.46), Gerard Jones (1.18.19), Peter Mitchell (1.19.20), Patsy Hughes (1.19.51), Niall Devlin (1.20.01), Anthony O’Neill (1.20.49), Stephen Lynch (1.21.23), Martin Kolborn (1.21.59), Richard Fox (1.22.57), Patricia Boyle (1.24.10), Toirleach Gourley (1.24.58), Kevin Heenan (1.30.03), Jane Thom (1.30.45) and Barry O’Neill (1.40.02).

The club would like to thank the sponsor of this event J&K Contracts, Cookstown, as well as volunteers and all runners who supported the series.

Armagh International Road Races

On Thursday evening, Andrew Newell and Ryan Treanor took on Armagh 3k. The evening of races sees athletes from across the world take to The Mall in Armagh.

Conditions were ideal for racing. Andrew and Ryan both put in fantastic times of 9.36 and 10.13 respectively.

Parkrun MUSA Cookstown:

On Saturday morning, MUSA parkrun managed to beat the weather. This was largely down to the determination of the volunteers. In addition, the weather did little to deter the enthusiasm of those taking part.

Andrew Newell and Ryan Treanor returned to action, taking first and third place overall in times of 17.29 and 17.59 respectively.

Hannah Glasgow and Tanya Quinn also achieved top 3 finishes, finishing as second and third ladies in 22.59 and 23.01 respectively.

Also taking part were; Brian O’Donnell (22.01), Karen Devlin (23.10), Ellen Glasgow (23.33), Paula Glasgow (23.37), Damien Atkinson (23.52) and Gillian Robinson (28.07).