Armagh International Road Race Roundup

14 February 2020, from Athletics NI

It was another fantastic night of racing at the Armagh International Road Races organised by Armagh AC yesterday. As always, there were a vast number of fast times, with around 139 Men hitting a sub 15 minute time in the 5k, 52 women hitting sub 10 minutes in the Women’s 3k and another 21 men reaching sub 9 minutes in the Men’s 3k.

In the Women’s 3k event, the NI & Ulster team finished in 4th place overall with 95 points. Letterkenny AC’s Nakita Burke was the first NI & Ulster women across the line in 14th place overall and a PB of 9:28, followed by Beechmount Harriers’ Sarah Lavery in 34th overall and a time of 9:45. Next for the team was North Down Ac’s Rachel Gibson who finished in a time of 9:53 in 47th place overall.

In the age categories, East Down AC’s Catherine O’Connor was the 2nd F35 in a time of 10:14, while Finn Valley AC’s Jane Halloran claimed the F50 top spot in a time of 11:57. The Junior ladies shone in the B age category, with Willowfield Harriers’ Kirsti Foster finishing in a time of 10:00, which was a PB of 43 seconds for the 14 year old. In 2nd place was City of Lisburn AC’s Victoria Lightbody who finished in a PB time of 10:19 followed by her club mate, Katie McCleery who finished in a PB time of 10:24.

In the Men’s 5k race, the NI & Ulster Men’s team secured 160 points to finish in 4th place overall, with St Malachy AC’s Ben Branagh leading the team in a time of 14:11. Second in for the team, was Newcastle AC’s Patrick McNiff who finished in 14:24 in 58th place overall, followed by Springwell Running Club’s Neil Johnston who finished in 14:33 in 69th place overall and City of Derry Spartans’ JP Williamson who finished in 106th place in a time of 14:46.

Among the local runners, Newcastle AC’s Ryan Forsyth was the first across the line in a time of 13:58, while City of Lisburn AC’s Chris Madden finished in 52nd place in a time of 14:22.

Acorns AC’s Matthew Neill claimed the title in the Men’s 3k race, finishing in a time of 8:37, followed by Letterkenny AC’s Danny Mooney, who came 2nd in 8:41 and Annadale Striders’ Eskander Turki finished 3rd in a time of 8:41.

In the age category events for the 3k, Neill Weir (Willowfield Harriers) claimed 1st place for the M40 category in a time of 8:58. For the M45, Martin McKenna (Armagh AC) took the win in 9:33, while Glaslough Harrier’s Declan McNally won the M55 in 11:47. Norman Mawhinney (Scrabo Striders) won the M60 category in 11:07, with Paul Elliot (Beechmount Harriers) winning the M65 category in 10:17 and North Down AC’s Terry Eakin winning the M70 category in 11:39.

The Junior men’s A category title went to Beechmount Harriers’ JJ Gracey who finished in 8:43, followed by St Malachys AC’s Adam Ferris in 2nd in 8:44 and North Belfast Harriers’ Matthew Lavery in 3rd place in 8:45. For the younger, B age group, Springwell Running Club’s Ryan Smith came 2nd in a time of 9:13, followed by North Belfast Harrier’s Luke Kelly in 3rd in 9:18.

Full results can be found here:

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *