Athletes enjoy events in Magherafelt, Craigavon and Dromara!


Summer season is here with plenty of midweek action…
On Wednesday 14th June 2017, local runners enjoyed a busy night of action, with three popular events taking place across the province, namely the Acorns AC Night of 3,000m races in Magherafelt, the Dromara 5k and the Annaghmore 10k – in total, close to three hundred competitors turned out for the events.

At the Acorns AC’s Night of 3,000m races in Magherafelt, Derry Track Club’s Martin Cox continued his return to fitness with the fastest time of the night. After an excellent race with Foyle Valley AC’s Chris McGuinness, Martin ran out winner in 8:57, with Chris clocking 8:59. The ladies contest was just as close, with Maeve Lavery (City of Lisburn AC) edging it – Maeve ran 10:33 in Race 3, just seeing off Marina Murphy (Derry Track Club), who covered the distance in 10:35 in Race 2.

Meanwhile, in Craigavon, Newry City Runners’ Don Travers led the way at the Annaghmore 10k, winning in 35:43 (1st place). Dawn McClure (Unattached) took 1st place in the ladies race in 46:19. In the associated 5k, Lee Maginnis (Newry AC) broke the tape in 18:26 (1st place), while young City of Lisburn AC athlete Hannah Cochrane won the ladies race in 19:32 (1st place); this was enough to see Hannah take 3rd place overall.

At the Dromara 5k road race in County Down, an event hosted by Dromore AC, Jack O’Hare (Newcastle AC) continued his good recent form to win in 18:17 (1st place). The host club’s Rebekah Nixon (Dromore AC) won the ladies race in 20:14 (1st place).

Full results for all of the races are available on our ‘Results’ page HERE.

Elsewhere this week…
NI men completed a 1-2-3 of the men’s podium at the Convoy 5k road race in County Donegal (Ireland) on Tuesday 13th June 2017. City of Derry AC’s Noel Logan secured top honours in 15:28 (1st place), just three seconds ahead of Keith Shiels (Foyle Valley AC), who claimed 2nd place in 15:31 – Declan Reed (City of Derry AC) returned to competitive action with a 15:35 finish for 3rd place.

Maria Ni Mhaolagin (Letterkenny AC) won the ladies race in 18:31 (1st place), with Foyle Valley AC’s Martina McMullan taking 2nd place in 18:50. Leoni Mullen (Finn Valley AC) recorded 19:13 for 3rd place.