Athletics NI all set for annual awards event:


Winners to be honoured at Athletics NI Awards:

The Athletics Northern Ireland Annual Awards Ceremony will be held in the Les Jones Room, Athletics House on Wednesday 19th November at 7pm.

These awards celebrate the often unsung heroes of athletics in Northern Ireland – the volunteers, officials and coaches who put in a remarkable effort throughout the year to create the foundation on which our sport is built.

Awards will be presented by guest speaker, Jason Gardener, Non-Executive Director of UK Athletics. Jason is one of the UK’s most successful printers. During his illustrious career Jason held Olympic, World, Commonwealth and European titles. Following his retirement from athletics he has continued to pursue further sporting challenges including coaching elite athletes.  Athletics Northern Ireland’s Official Performance Partner, Under Armour, will be supporting the Awards, kindly providing Under Armour gear to each of the Award Winners.

Awards will be presented to the following recipients:


Junior Club – City of Lisburn AC

Club of the Year – Ballymena Runners AC


Volunteer of The Year – Robert McGaughey (Ballymena Runners)


Official of the Year – Roger Perrott

Services to Officiating – Robert Brodie


Development Coach of the Year – Francis O’Hagan

Talent / Performance Coach of the Year – Mark Kirk

Services to Coaching – Jim Alexander

In addition to the Awards in each of the four categories they will also be presented to athletes who broke NI records in 2014 – Amy Foster (100m), Kerry O’Flaherty (3000m s/c), Zoe Brown (Pole Vault), Andrew Barkley (U18 Discus), John Kelly (U20 Shot) and Megan Marrs (U18 100m, U18 100mH and U20 100mH).

The winners of the coaching awards will go forward to be nominated for the Sport Northern Ireland awards next year.  If you would like to attend the Awards please contact by 2 pm on Monday 17th November 2014.