Athletics NI announce IAAF Antrim International XC team!

Athletics NI announce IAAF Antrim International XC team:

The Northern Ireland and Ulster Teams for the IAAF Antrim International Cross Country has been announced.

The following athletes have been selected to represent Northern Ireland and Ulster in the 2018 IAAF Antrim International, which is being held at the Greenmount Campus, Antrim on Saturday 6th January 2018.

The women’s team consists of Laura Bickerstaff, Rachel Gibson, Katie Moore and Fionnuala Ross.

Conor Duffy, Neil Johnston, Scott Rankin and Eoghan Totten will run for the men’s team.

Announcing the team, Athletics NI’s Director of Coaching & Athlete Development, Jackie Newton, said: ‘’We’re delighted to announce such a strong team for the upcoming IAAF Antrim International and Celtic Cross Country International.

‘’Both men and women’s teams will be highly competitive in what is 2018’s first major cross country meet. We all hope our athletes put in a great performance and get 2018 off to the best start possible’’.

As well as the senior teams, selections have also been made for the age groups at the Celtic International Cross Country.

In the U17 age group, David Carey, Adam Ferris, James, Gracey and Sean McGinley will line up for the Boys, and Katie Agnew, Cara Laverty, Aoife McGreevy and Rebecca Wallace will make up the girls team.

At U20, the woman’s team is Niamh Carr, Grace Carson, Rio Catney and Sarah Kelly, and the mens’: Craig McMeechan, Donal Farren, Patrick McNiff and Fintan Stewart.

Finally, competing in the U23 age group are James Edgar, Conall Kirk, Roy McGilloway and Jonathan Whan for the men, and Zoe Carruthers, Edel Monaghan and Rebekah Nixon for the women.