Edwin May Nissan Classic, Springwell News

(Just some of Springwell RC at the Edwin May Nissan Classic)

Organised by the Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council in association with Coleraine Leisure Centre and Springwell Running Club the Edwin May Nissan Classic 5 Mile Road Race took place in Coleraine on Wednesday 14th August in perfect running conditions.  The squally showers, that had persisted during the day dispersed in time for the 7.30pm start, leaving the record entry of over 500 runners with a cool, dry overcast evening for their race around the town.

Just some of Springwell RC at the Edwin May Nissan Classic

The spectators that had gathered to watch the race were treated to a very competitive race with the first 37 finishers all recording sub 30 minute times.  The men’s race was dominated by Foyle Valley AC who claimed all three podium places. Craig Simpson was first over the line in a magnificent 24.57 closely followed by Gary Slevin in 25.02 and Chris McGuinness in 25.55.

The ladies race saw another impressive run from Gemma McDonald (Ballycastle Runners) who finished in 29.48.  Jana Ross (County Antrim Harriers) was second with a time of 31.21 and Leann Gibson (Victoria & Connswater AC) completed the podium in 31.38.

Councilor Sean Bateson, Mayor of CC&G with Mariette Mulvenna and Majella McAteer

Springwell RC was represented by almost 100 members, with age category wins for Alison Rankin, Meabh Close and Elizabeth Deighan.

Springwell RC Results – 4th John Gordon 26.04, 7th Gary Hegarty 26,28, 10th Ciaran Ferris 28.11, 17th Aaron Moffatt 29.00, 18th Christopher McNickle 29.03, 21st Jimmy Stewart 29.12, 26th Steven Magill 29.24, 27th Andy Dowey 29.27, 30th Alister Jamison 29.35, 31st Alan Nevin 29.35 PB, 33rd Stephen Joyce 29.38, 42nd Maurice Walker 30.43, 44th Fergus Irwin 30.52, 48th Chris Holmes 31.17, 49th Hugh Boyle 31.27, 58th Rodney McPhee 31.56, 71st Warren McIlmoyle 32.41, 72nd Ryan Kennedy 32.50, 79th Alison Rankin 33.52, 82nd Stephen Beggs 33.32, 87th Aoife Carr 33.54, 107th Lesley Logan 34.54, 116th Conor Kendall 35.16, 118th Meabh Close 35.21, 122nd Terry Glenn 35.36, 123rd Darren Walsh 35.24, 126th Ruari Bradley 35.59 PB, 131st Alan McKeeman 36.14, 135th Noel McAllister 36.23, 137th Anne – Marie Carr 36.30, 141st Keith Nixon 36.34, 144th Jim O’Hara 36.37, 145th Mark Neely 36.36 PB, 149th Mandy Stewart 36.47, 152nd Peter Fleming 36.52, 159th Mervyn Thompson 37.13, 162nd Adele Tomb 37.14, 164th Gary Kendall 36.59, 172nd George Brien 37.10, 176th Majella McAteer 37.43, 180th William McCaffrey 37.57, 186th Alan Platt 38.07, 187th Pauline Mullan 38.15, 200th David Boorman 38.45, 202nd Michael Mulvenna 38.52, 206th Jim Bradley 39.16, 207th Joanna Juren 38.51, 208th Claire Ramsey 39.16, 218th Elizabeth Deighan 39.41, 220th Lorraine Mullan 39.37, 222nd Jenny Chartres 39.50, 225th Sylvia Pollock 39.46, 227th Robert Kane 40.03, 231st Pam Howe 40.11, 234th Colin Loughery 40.26, 246th Liz Dowey 40.58, 249th Richard Pollock 41.06, 255th Alanna Millar 41.32, 257th Deborah McPhee 41.49, 262nd James Platt 41.57, 271st Fergal Mackle 42.30, 272nd Paul Dornan 42.36, 283rd Andrew Wilmot 43.04, 289th Nichola Neill 43.24, 290th Kate McNicholl 43.21, 294th Mariette Mulvenna 43.38, 304th Ingrid Hamilton 44.04, 310th David Patterson 44.44, 321st Cathy Barr 45.13, 325th Caroline Foster 44.56, 326th Caitriona Mackle 45.23, 327th Margaret Kearney 45.22, 329th Anne Marie McKenna 45.40, 336th Ursula Harper 46.07, 347th Stephanie Burton 46.32 PB, 353rd Heather McLaughlin 46.46, 364th Joanne McClenaghan 47.52, 365th Elaine Montgomery 47.55, 368th Emer Thompson 48.11, 371st Alison Duncan 48.27, 373rd Nicola White 48.35, 377th Aisling Hynes 48.56, 378th Jonathan Lynch 49.14, 381st Barbara Ferguson 49.28, 384th Monica McClenaghan 49.43, 386th Deborah Archibald 49.56, 388th Shani Steenson 50.09, 393rd Lorraine Abernethy 51.31, 394th Amanda Scott 51.19, 395th Pauline Duke 51.25, 400th Rhona Laverty 52.28, 410th Briege O’Kane 54.55, 411th Caroline Owen 55.01, 422nd Kenneth Bacon 58.04, 425th Bridget Rothwell 59.56

The Quadrathon

Hosted by Extreme North events management company the Quadrathon is a unique event of either four marathons or four half marathons that take competitors on a lap of the Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal.  Starting in Moville on the 15th August four days of running would see competitors finish back in Moville on Sunday 18th August having travelled via Kinnego Bay, Malin Town, Malin Head, Carndonagh, and Ballyliffin, the fearsome 850 foot climb through Mamore Gap, Buncrana, Burnfoot and Muff.  In total the marathon runners would cover 105 miles over some of the most scenic and challenging terrain in Donegal with challenging ascents and equally difficult descents.  As if the course itself wasn’t challenging enough, the weather added another degree of difficulty with torrential rain, gale force winds and very high temperatures to test competitors resolve even further.

Helena Dornan descends the Mamore Gap

Springwell RC had four members taking part in the event, with David McGaffin and Helena Dornan taking on the four marathons.  Determined running by David saw him finish in third place overall, and second in the men’s race, having completed the four races in a time of 15.46.07.  Helena ran the four marathons in 19.17.55 to win the F40 age category.

In the Half Marathons Nichola Frizelle completed the four races in 7.47.11 to finish 10th overall and 3rd in the ladies race.  James Evans finished 3th in a time of 7.58.52 with Mark Neely 42nd in 8.53.02 and Andrew Kincaid 56th with a time of 11.22.48.