Hundreds enjoy Kennedy Kane McArthur Festival of Running 2017!


The Kennedy Kane McArthur Festival of Running 2017:

On Saturday 22nd July 2017, almost 350 athletes made their way to Dervock Village in County Antrim for the annual Kennedy Kane Festival of Running, an event organised by Springwell Running Club and Dervock & District Community Association.

The festival, consisting of the Pure Running Half Marathon and the Centra 10k, celebrates the achievements of local man Kennedy McArthur who won Olympic Marathon Gold at the 1912 Stockholm Olympic Games.

The early morning rain gave way to dull overcast conditions for the start of the 10k at 10.45am which made for ideal running conditions.

The undulating courses in Dervock always provide a challenge for competitors but Oliver Cook (PACE Running Club) produced an excellent performance to win in 35:39 (1st place), with David Turtle (East Antrim Harriers) taking 2nd place in 36:15. The host club’s Steven Magill (Springwell RC) claimed 3rd place with a time of 36:35.

In the ladies 10k race, it was a close affair, with Caroline Irwin (Springwell RC) following on from her 5k win at the North Coast 5k with another victory – Caroline broke the tape in 46:25 (1st place). Lynsey Grant (Unattached) was close behind, securing 2nd place in 46:49 – Emma McKeen (Larne AC) completed the podium in 47:40 (3rd place).

In the Half Marathon, Neill Weir (Willowfield Harriers) had an excellent run, dominating the race to win in 1:15:39 (1st place), over two minutes ahead of runner up Joe Malone (Unattached) who finished in 1:17:44 (2nd place). Andrew McIntyre (Orangegrove AC) recorded 1:19:45 for 3rd place.

In the ladies 13.1 mile race Louise Smith (North Belfast Harriers) won with a time of 1:24:09; this saw Louise take 1st place on the ladies podium and 10th place overall. Club mate Martsje Hell (North Belfast Harriers) claimed 2nd place in 1:28:11 and in 3rd place, continuing this year’s excellent form, was Springwell RC’s Karen McLaughlin in 1:31:30.

Full Results:   Kennedy Kane McArthur Festival of Running 2017 Results 

Note:  Article compiled by David McGaffin and photo by Springwell RC.