Jack Agnew and Eve Walsh-Dann named in British Athletics World Para Athletics Junior Championships squad!


Northern Ireland based athletes named in Great Britain & NI squad:

Two Northern Ireland based athletes have been named in a strong Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the inaugural World Para Athletics Junior Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland, to be held between 3-6 August 2017.

Jack Agnew (Torque Racing / Heather Ardis) and Eve Walsh-Dann (Roger Sexton) will be part of the 14 strong group competing at the championships, which offers an opportunity for developing athletes who are on the pathway towards individual medal success at a future senior World Championships or Paralympic Games.

In the wheelchair racing events, under 20 athlete Jack Agnew was highlighted as one of the key athletes to watch out for.  Jack will compete across a series of T54 events; the 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m and 1500m. The Northern Irish athlete has lowered his personal bests in all of these events except the 200m so far in 2017, so he will be one of the in-form athletes competing in the Swiss town.

Eve Walsh-Dann will compete in the T36 100m and 200m events – the North Down AC athlete has run 15.11 for 100m and 32.49 for 200m already this year.

Para Athletics Head Coach, Paula Dunn, commented on the team selection:

“The World Para Athletics Junior Championships provides a valuable opportunity for our talented young athletes to gain experience in the major games environment. I have no doubt that the 14 athletes selected will use this championship wisely and hopefully learn plenty from it.

“This is an important part in the development pathway for these athletes as we build towards the Tokyo Paralympic Games in 2020. For many, this will be their first appearance in a British vest, and it will be crucial as we progress over the next few years.”

The full team is listed below:

British Athletics Para Junior Team for the World Para Athletics Junior Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland between 3-6 August 2017:

Under 18:

Karim Chan (Femi Akinsanya) T20 Long Jump

Simran Kaur (Nick Harris) – T46 100m and 200m

Molly Kingsbury (Ben Davies) – T37 Long Jump and 100m

Ethan Kirby (Michael Swift) – T20 400m

Luke Nuttall (Vince Wilson / Alison Wyeth) – T46 1500m

Esme O’Connell (Ian Roberts / Dan Hopper) – T20 Long Jump

Eden Rainbow-Cooper (Jenny Archer) – T54 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m

Jayden Saberton (Lee Walker) – T37 100m and 200m

Daphne Schrager (Alan Richardson / Rob Ellchuk) – T35 100m and 200m

Eve Walsh-Dann (Roger Sexton) – T36 100m and 200m

Under 20:

Jack Agnew (Heather Ardis) – T54 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m and 1500m

Amar Aichoun (Jeffrey Lawal-Balogun) – T38 100m and 200m

Craig Boardman (Paul Smith) – T34 100m, 200m and 400m

Amy Carr (Rick Betts) – T37 100m, 200m and Long Jump