Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop crowned World Champions!


Para Athletics World Championships 2017:

On Sunday 16th July 2017, decorated Paralympic athletes Jason Smyth (Derry Track Club) and Michael McKillop (North Belfast Harriers) added Para Athletics World Championship 2017 medals to their already bulging trophy cabinets, adding to what has been another busy and successful weekend for local athletes.

In London, at the Para Athletics World Championships, friends and Paralympic superstars Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop secured gold within ten minutes of each other on an excellent night for local athletics.

Following on from his 10.73 (+0.2) cruise control victory in the T13 100m semi-final, Jason went on to pick up gold with a 10.63 (-0.4) clocking for 1st place in the final.  

Then, less than ten minutes later, fellow Northern Ireland man Michael McKillop took to the start line of the T38 800m final – like Jason, Michael had won his semi-final relatively comfortably, and in the final, he showed his class with 2:00.93 for 1st place.

Both men will now look forward to other events at the prestigious Para Athletics World Championships. Jason will line up in the T13 200m heats later today (Monday 17th July 2017), while Michael will be gearing up for the T37 1500m, which starts on Saturday 22nd July 2017.

Another Northern Ireland man, James Hamilton (Ballymena Runners / Mark Kirk) will commence his Championships today when he aims for gold in the T20 1500m final.

NI men part of Ireland’s impressive 4x400m Relay team…

In Poland (Sunday 16th July 2017), at the European Under 23 Athletics Track & Field Championships, local men Andrew Mellon (Crusaders AC) and Craig Newell (Ballymena & Antrim AC) were part of the Ireland 4 x 400m team, alongside team mates Harry Purcell and Karl Griffin, who qualified for the final.

The speedy quartet recorded 3:07.63 in the heats, before going on to secure a very credible 7th place in the final, crossing the line in 3:08.64.

Note: Photo above taken from International Paralympic Committee website.