Neill Weir and Sinead Murtagh take Portaferry 10 titles!

Portaferry 10 mile Road Race 2018:

Neill Weir (Willowfield Harriers) and Sinead Murtagh (Newcastle AC) secured top honours as over three hundred athletes took on the popular Portaferry 10 mile road race and associated 2 x 5 mile relay race in Portaferry, County Down (Tuesday 17th July 2018).

In a close race, endurance specialist Neill claimed victory with a six second margin over Stephen Wylie of Victoria Park & Connswater AC.  Neill clocked 56:13 for 1st place, with Stephen following in 56:19 (2nd place) for the runners up prize.  The talented pairing were followed closely by emerging athlete Darrel Cooper (Unattached), who crossed the line in 56:28 for 3rd place.

In the ladies race, in-form Sinead Murtagh picked up another prize, winning in 1:04:01 (1st place).  East Down AC’s Niamh Kellett followed in 1:06:30 for 2nd place, before Kerry Speers (North Down AC) completed the top three in 1:08:08 (3rd place).

In the associated 2 x 5 mile relay, North Belfast Harriers pair Joe Malone and Philip Goss led the way in 55:01 (1st place) – they were followed closely by Willowfield Harriers men Garry Morrow and Mark Kinsella, who recorded 55:28 for 2nd place.  Fellow Willowfield Harriers athletes Thomas Carson and Amy Bulman followed in 1:01:00 for 3rd place relay team and 1st place in the ‘mixed’ team competition.

Full Results: Portaferry 10 mile Road Race 2018 Results