Neill Weir, Claire Tonry, Peter Fleming & Erica Calder win at record break Rathlin Run 2018!

Rathlin Run 2018:

Claire Tonry (Dub Runners) smashed the ladies course record as record breaking numbers took on the Rathlin Run 2018, an event organised by in association with charity Belfast Activity Centre (Saturday 25th August 2018).

Neill Weir (Willowfield Harriers), Peter Fleming (Ballymena Runners) and Erica Calder (DSD AC) also picked up prizes at the event, which is sponsored by Rathlin Island Ferry Company, Clif Bar and Rejuvenate Massage Therapy (Larne).

In the 10 mile event, as expected, Neill Weir (Willowfield Harriers) and Philip Goss (North Belfast Harriers, a two-time winner of the event and course record holder, dominated proceedings.  Nothing separated the pair early on, but in the end, it was endurance specialist Neill who edged clear to take the win. The Northern Ireland international was the only person to go under the famous one hour mark for the tough undulating route, breaking the tape in 58:59 for 1st place.

Philip, who has covered the course in 57:57, followed as runner up, finishing just outside the hour in 1:00:14 (2nd place).  Unattached athlete Keith Dawson (1:07:03) took a well-deserved 3rd place after a strong solo performance.

Despite the strong performances of the men, it was Claire Tonry who deservedly stole the headlines with a new ladies course record.  The fast improving Dub Runners athlete, who clocked a new half marathon personal best (1:27:49) at the Omagh HM earlier this year, recorded an exceptional 1:08:07 for 1st place; this was enough to see Claire take 5th place overall.

Behind, in an excellent race for the runners up prize, pre-race favourite Gemma McDonald (Ballycastle Runners AC) crossed the line in 1:12:33 (2nd place), just sixteen seconds ahead of Dub Runners’ Collette McCourt, who finished in 1:12:49 for 3rd place.

In the 5k Race, spectators were treated to an exciting race between Ballymena Runners’ Peter Fleming and Springwell RC’s Will Colvin.  The men were side by side until the final kilometer when Peter edged clear to take the win in  21:11 (1st place).  Will followed in 21:32 for 2nd place, before Brian Maltman of East Coast AC completed the top three in 22:03 (3rd place).

The ladies 5k race was also a close affair, with Erica Calder (DSD AC) edged out Megan Dowds (Unattached).  Erica claimed victory in 23:23 (1st place), with Megan following 23:42 (2nd place).  Hannah Keery (Unattached) recorded 24:11 for 3rd place.

Full Results: Rathlin Run 2018 Results

Note:  Photos from the event will be posted on our NiRunning flickr page in the coming days.