Six local stars named in Ireland’s marathon team for European Athletics Championships 2018!

European Athletics Championships 2018:

Six local athletes have been named in Ireland’s marathon team for this Summer’s European Athletics Championships in Berlin, Germany.

Olympians Breege Connolly (City of Derry AC / Donnie Walsh), Kevin Seaward (St Malachy’s AC / Andrew Hobdell) and Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders / Andrew Hobdell), will be joined by Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers / Stephen Haas), Gladys Ganiel O’Neill (North Belfast Harriers / Matt Shields) and Laura Graham (Mourne Runners / Ryan Maxwell) in the eleven-strong team.

The European Championships will run from the 7th – 12th August 2018, with the marathon taking place on Sunday 12th August 2018.

Jackie Newton, Director of Coaching and Athlete Development said, “We are delighted that more than half the team are athletes that we have been supporting towards this goal. The European Championships is an important competition on our calendar and we look forward to continuing our support so that they arrive in their best shape and are competitive in the race.”

The full team is as follows:

Men Coach Club
Sergiu Ciobanu Jerry Kiernan Clonliffe Harriers AC
Mick Clohisey Dick Hooper Raheny Shamrock AC
Sean Hehir Dick Hooper Rathfarnham WSAF AC
Paul Pollock Andy Hobdell Annadale Striders AC
Stephen Scullion Stephen Haas Clonliffe Harriers AC
Kevin Seaward Andy Hobdell St Malachy’s AC
Women Coach Club
Breege Connolly Donie Walsh City of Derry AC
Gladys Ganiel Matt Shields North Belfast Harriers AC
Laura Graham Ryan Maxwell Mourne Runners AC
Lizzie Lee Donie Walsh Leevale AC
Claire McCarthy Ronan Boland Leevale AC

The qualification period for all other events remains open until 29th July 2018, with exception of the relays, which closes on 22nd July 2018.  The selection meeting for the remainder of the Ireland team will be on 29th July 2018.

The selection policy for the European Athletics Championships is available HERE.