Spirit of Running Triumph for Sperrin Harriers

Mark Reid and Maureen Mallon – Best 5 Mile Event

At the inaugural Spirit of Running Awards, the Stanley Reid 5 Mile Memorial Race emerged victorious as the winner of the Best 5 Mile Race. In other action over the weekend, several Harriers achieved personal bests across parkrun events. On Sunday, Brian and Joanne Taggart rounded off a winning weekend for the club.

Spirit of Running Awards

Sperrin Harriers had three nominees in total for this hotly anticipated awards ceremony.

The Stanley Reid Memorial 5 Mile Memorial Race scooped one of the top prizes of the night, winning Best 5 Mile Race.

Upon receiving the award Race Director Mark Reid said, “I was shocked and surprised to win such an accolade, but I am very proud that this event won. Thanks to all the members of Sperrin Harriers who help to organise and run the race. We look forward to continuing to host such a successful event in the future.”

This year’s Stanley Reid 5 Mile Memorial takes place on Friday 7th August.

The other Harrier nominees were Brian Taggart for Inspirational Coach of the Year and Theresa O’Hare for Female Inspirational Runner of the Year. Whilst both were pipped at the post on the night, they thoroughly deserved to finish as finalists in a highly competitive field.


MUSA Cookstown

Saturday’s Cookstown run took place regardless of Storm Jorge, much to the relief of the parkrunners. A trio of Harriers capitalised by seizing personal bests, namely James Hepburn (20.14), Shane Curtis (20.48) and Damien Atkinson (23.01).

Ryan Treanor continued his fine run of form, finishing with a time of 17.40, which was good for second place overall.

Also taking part were Brendan Gildernew (17.53), Peter Mitchell (20.55), Damien McCaffrey (21.21), Stephen Lynch (22.00), Steven Dornan (22.44), Hannah Glasgow (23.07), Ellen Glasgow (23.33), Doc Martin (23.34), Tanya Quinn (23.54), Paula Glasgow (24.23), Richard Fox (24.44), Tony O’Neill (24.57), Team Oliver (25.00), Barry O’Neill (25.49), Jane Thom (26.07), Joanne Corey (27.22) and Gavin O’Hagan (with daughter) (40.27).

Dungannon Park

After two consecutive cancelled events, it was business as usual for the Harriers.

Andrew Newell took the top spot with a time of 18.38.

Also competing were Patsy Hughes (23.31), Russell Bell (26.54), Gerard Jones (26.55) and Martin Donaghy (28.07).


Joanne Fingleton took on the Antrim Parkrun, an event located in Loughshore Park, running alongside the Six Mile Water River. Joanne stormed home in a time of 24.34.

Lurgan Park 10k

On Sunday, Brian and Joanne Taggart enjoyed tremendous success in the Lurgan Park 10k and 5k respectively.

This event was run in aid of the Southern Area Hospice. Brian finished first overall in the 10k with his unassailable time of 36.55, while Joanne’s fine time of 21.40 in the 5k saw her take first female.

Brian Taggart took first place at the Lurgan Park

Damien Atkinson achieved a new PB at the MUSA Parkrun

James Hepburn registered a personal best at the MUSA Parkrun

Joanne Taggart was first female at the Lurgan Park

Brian Taggart running to a win at the Lurgan Park 10k

Shane Curtis new PB at MUSA Parkrun