Steven McAlary and Louise Smith claim the headlines at Cookstown Half Marathon!


Cookstown Half Marathon / Danny McDaid 15k / Sunrise Run 5k / Divis 10k:

On Sunday 30th July 2017, nearly four hundred athletes took to the streets of Cookstown for the Cookstown Half Marathon.

The event was the latest installment of the Pure Running Half Marathon Series and it was a man who was competing over the distance for the first time, Steven McAlary (Springwell Running Club), who stole the headlines.  Steven won by almost five minutes as he broke the tape in an impressive 1:15:43 (1st place).  Acorns AC’s Eoin Hughes took 2nd place in 1:20:39, while Chris Huitson (Tyne Bridge Harriers) recorded 1:21:58 for 3rd place.

In the ladies race, the ever consistent Louise Smith (North Belfast Harriers) topped the podium with a 1:25:53 clocking for 1st place.  Joanne Foster (East Down AC) followed in 1:35:09 (2nd place), before Catherine Roberts (North Down AC) crossed the line in 1:37:41 (3rd place).  Full results for the event are available HERE.


Chris McGuinness (Foyle Valley AC) takes 2nd place at Danny McDaid 15k!

Also on Sunday 30th July 2017, several familiar faces secured podium places at the popular Danny McDaid 15k road race in Letterkenny, County Donegal.

The race was won by Letterkenny AC’s Karol Duggan in 51:14 (1st place), with Foyle Valley AC’s Chris McGuinness and City of Derry AC’s Gary Slevin taking 2nd place and 3rd place respectively.  Chris recorded 51:42, while Gary ran 52:12.  Oylmpian Catriona Jennings (Letterkenny AC) won the ladies race in 56:03 (1st place) – Fionnuala Diver (Letterkenny AC) followed in 59:04 (2nd place), with Monica McGranaghan (Letterkenny AC) ensuring that the hosts claimed a clean sweep of the podium in 1:03:28 (3rd place).  Full results for the event are available HERE.


David Clarke (North Belfast Harriers) win Sunrise Run 5k!

At the Sunrise Run 5k in Larne (Sunday 30th July 2017), an event hosted by East Coast AC, North Belfast Harriers’ David Clarke won in 19:01 (1st place).  John Neill of Larne AC took 2nd place in 19:38, while Chris Collins (East Antrim Harriers) followed in 19:49 (3rd place).

In a closely contested ladies race, Gemma Davies took top honours in 23:23 (1st place).  Event regular Ciara McLaughlin (Unattached) crossed the line in 23:39 for 2nd place, while Rhonda Brady (Ballymena & Antrim AC) clocked 23:49 for 3rd place.  Full results for the event are available HERE.


Kent Swann (North Belfast Harriers) wins Divis 10k!

Meanwhile, in Belfast on Sunday 30th July 2017, ‘Leg It Events’ welcomed nearly two hundred athletes to their Divis 10k race.  Kent Swann (North Belfast Harriers) led the way in 38:40 (1st place).  Ricky McKnight (PACE Running Club) took 2nd place in 40:21, with Paul Blaney (Beechmount Harriers) running 40:58 for 3rd place.

Bernadette O’Kane of Dub Runners won the ladies race in 47:39 (1st place), seeing off Claire Ingram (Ballydrain Harriers) and Eileen Stevenson (St Peter’s AC) – Claire ran 48:46 for 2nd place, while Eileen recorded 49:12 for 3rd place.  Full results for the event are available HERE.

Note:  Feature photo of Steven McAlary by CKP.