Weekend Preview: Euro XC Championships, Mighty Oaks XC and more…

0
31

Weekend Preview:  Euro XC Championships, Mighty Oaks XC and more…

As we approach another weekend, the first real snow of the year and the associated Storm Caroline, has already caused the postponement of two events – the Athletics NI Flahavan’s Primary School Cross Country race at Oakgrove College, due to take place on Friday 8th December 2017, has been rescheduled for Monday 18th December, at Oakgrove College.

The Dromore High School ‘Run for Kenya 5k’, which was due to take place on Saturday 9th December 2017, has also been postponed.

IMPORTANT NOTE (8/12/2017) – 3:45PM:

In addition to the races mentioned above, the 26extreme Castlewellan Night Race (8/12/2017) and the Mighty Oaks XC (9/12/2017) have both been POSTPONED.

There is still the massive European XC Championships to look forward to.  This event will form the basis of our weekend preview, but we will list all of the events taking place over the weekend so that you don’t miss out!

Northern Ireland athletes set for European XC Championships 2017:

Five athletes from Northern Ireland will represent Ireland at this weekend’s European Cross Country Championships in Slovakia (Sunday 10th December 2017).

Irish Life AAI National Senior XC Champion Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders / Andy Hobdell), fellow Olympian Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle AC / Richard Rodgers) and Scotland based Armagh AC athlete Fionnuala Ross (Dermot Kerr) are part of the senior line-up, which includes two time European XC Champion Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole AC).  Northern Ireland is also well represented in the Junior ranks, with AAI National junior gold medallist Craig McMeechan (North Down AC / Francis Marsh) and the always impressive James Edgar (City of Lisburn AC / Heather Ardis) set to compete.

After the selection of the local runners, Athletics Northern Ireland’s Director of Coaching & Athlete Development, Jackie Newton, said: ”It’s great to see so many Northern Irish athletes on the squad and we fully expect them to put in great performances, building on the great work they’ve been doing so far throughout 2017”.  The full team line-up is available HERE.

Other events taking place in Northern Ireland this weekend:

Saturday 9th December 2017:

The Rudolph Run ESKRA 10k & 5k – Eskra Community Centre – 12pm (Entries AVAILABLE on race day!)

Sunday 10th December 2017:

Crossgar Santa Run – War Memorial Park, Crossgar – 1pm (Entries AVAILABLE on race day!)

Parkrun:

As always, Northern Ireland’s twenty-five parkrun events will take place this weekend, for more information on these, or to locate your nearest event, please visit our dedicated ‘parkrun’ section within our fixtures page.