William McKee and Diane Wilson win Annalong Horseshoe Mountain Race!


Annalong Horseshoe Mountain Race 2017:
On Saturday 13th May 2017, local mountain runners took on the famous Annalong Horseshoe Mountain Race, the third event of this year’s Northern Ireland Mountain Running Association (NIMRA) Championship.

The race is classed as a ‘long’ event for NIMRA Championship purposes and measured 13.1 miles in distance with 1,550 metres of ascent incorporated.

There were some notable absentees, with a NIMRA team competing at today’s Inter Counties Mountain Running Championships in Scotland, but that took nothing way from an excellent race.

As expected, Mourne Runners man William McKee made it a hat-trick of NIMRA Championship wins as he followed on from his victories in Glenariffe and The Fallows with a well-deserved win here. William slashed nearly eight minutes of his 2016 winning time when he broke the tape in 2:06:50 (1st place). David McKee (Mourne Runners), who is becoming a podium regular this season, followed in 2:09:33 (2nd place), before the ever consistent David Hicks (Newcastle AC) completed the men’s top three in 2:11:13 (3rd place).

In the ladies race, it was highly respected former Ben Nevis Mountain Race Champion Diane Wilson (Dromore AC) who stole the headlines with a strong performance. The Dromore AC athlete covered the tough route in 2:29:31 (1st place), seeing off competition from Moire O’Sullivan (Unattached) and Ciara Largey (Unattached). Moire took 2nd place in 2:42:27, with Ciara crossing the line just thirty one seconds later in 2:42:58 (3rd place).

Top 3 Men: 1st William McKee (Mourne Runners) – 2:06:50, 2nd David McKee (Mourne Runners) – 2:09:33, 3rd David Hicks (Newcastle AC) – 2:11:13

Top 3 Ladies: 1st Diane Wilson (Dromore AC) – 2:29:31, 2nd Moire O’Sullivan (Unattached) – 2:42:27, 3rd Ciara Largey (Unattached) – 2:42:58

Full Results:  Annalong Horseshoe Mountain Race 2017 Results – Photo by James Carr.